Sketchbook extracts


Here’s a few photographs I took of an artists book I made. The book follows the story of my life at my halls of residence when I first started uni. The type is printed onto tracing paper which I then inserted between the pages. I covered every other page with masking tape to give them a raw look and texture making the type stand out in a more thought provoking way. I treated the book like a sketchbook by carrying it around with during the period that the story follows and drawing and brainstorming my projects it, by doing this I saw it as being a true reflection on all the emotions I felt during this time. The book is certainly a one-off, it’s not just words on a page, it’s an embodiment of an entire period of my life.

~ by beckygroves on July 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
